51.75 F
September 28, 2021

Release of 66 Area Seventies follows new pattern for church leadership changes

A view of the Church Office Building of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints is pictured on April 4, 2020. The church announced the release of 66 Area Seventies this week (Spenser Heaps, Deseret News)

SALT LAKE CITY — Sixty-six Area Seventies will be released on Sunday, Aug. 1, following a new procedure for such leadership changes established last April by The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.

Elder Kevin J Worthen will continue his professional role as president of Brigham Young University but is among those being released from his ecclesiastical role as an Area Seventy.

The leadership changes were announced in a letter to Area Seventies from President M. Russell Ballard, acting president of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. The news was also provided in a news release Thursday.

For the first time last April, 77 new Area Seventies were sustained at the start of the leadership session of general conference instead of during a general session.

The church now will follow a pattern of calling new Area Seventies during the leadership session of April general conference while releasing those who have completed their callings each Aug. 1.

What is an Area Seventy?

Area Seventies are local area authorities who serve in each of the church’s geographical areas around the world. They live at home and maintain their non-religious vocations while serving for a designated number of years.

Area Seventies are ordained to the office of Seventy in the Melchizedek Priesthood, like General Authority Seventies, but are not considered General Authorities as their authority is generally limited to the area where they serve. They serve under the direction of the Presidency of the Seventy and their respective area presidency. They meet with and teach local leaders, missionaries, and members in local congregations.

The church has 12 quorums of the Seventy. The first two quorums are made up of General Authority Seventies and the third through the twelfth consist of Area Seventies.

Which Area Seventies are being released?

The 66 Area Seventies being released are listed according to quorum.

Third Quorum, which includes the Africa Central, Africa South, and Africa West Areas:

  • Elder Frederick O. Akinbo
  • Elder M. T. Ben Davis
  • Elder Jerat K. C. Igwe
  • Elder Christophe Kawaya
  • Elder John A. Koranteng

Fourth Quorum, which includes the Asia and Asia North Areas:

  • Elder Dong Chol Beh
  • Elder Ming-Shun Kuan
  • Elder Seiji Tokuzawa
  • Elder Robert K. William

Fifth Quorum, which includes the Brazil Area:

  • Elder Aroldo B. Cavalcante
  • Elder Carlos E. Perrotti

Sixth Quorum, which includes the Caribbean, Central America, and Mexico Areas:

  • Elder Luis J. Camey
  • Elder Luis C. Chaverri
  • Elder Ulises Chávez
  • Elder José A. Fernández
  • Elder Candido Fortuna
  • Elder Felix A. Martinez
  • Elder Helamán Montejo
  • Elder A. Moroni Pérez
  • Elder Rene Romay
  • Elder Luis G. Ruiz
  • Elder Jesús Vélez

Seventh Quorum, which includes the Europe, Europe East, and Middle East/Africa North Areas:

  • Elder Matthieu Bennasar
  • Elder Tom-Atle Herland

Eighth Quorum, which includes the Pacific and Philippines Areas:

  • Elder Richard C. Baquiran
  • Elder Daniel G. Hamilton
  • Elder Ryan V. Pagaduan
  • Elder Mark P. Peteru
  • Elder Maximo A. Saavedra Jr.
  • Elder Benjamin T. Sinjoux

Ninth Quorum, which includes the South America Northwest and South America South Areas:

  • Elder P. David Agazzani
  • Elder Quilmer A. Agüero
  • Elder Nelson Ardila
  • Elder Antonio F. Faúndez
  • Elder Matías D. Fernández
  • Elder Juan J. Levrino
  • Elder Carlo M. Lezano
  • Elder Pedro A. Sanhueza
  • Elder Daniel Texeira
  • Elder Luis G. Zapata

Tenth Quorum, which includes the North America Central, North America Northeast, and North America Southeast Areas:

  • Elder Douglas B. Carter
  • Elder M. Dirk Driscoll
  • Elder Michael A. Gillenwater
  • Elder Michael D. Groll
  • Elder J. Vaun McArthur
  • Elder Thomas T. Priday
  • Elder Brian L. Rawson
  • Elder Paul H. Sinclair

Eleventh Quorum, which includes the North America Southwest and North America West Areas:

  • Elder Lawrence P. Blunck
  • Elder Marc C. Davis
  • Elder J. Scott Dorius
  • Elder Bruce E. Ghent
  • Elder Raymond S. Heyman
  • Elder Todd S. Larkin
  • Elder Kevin K. Miskin
  • Elder Michael R. Murray
  • Elder David L. Stapleton
  • Elder Maxsimo C. Torres
  • Elder Carlos Villarreal
  • Elder Paul H. Watkins
  • Elder C. Dale Willis

Twelfth Quorum, which includes the Utah Area:

  • Elder Brent J. Christensen
  • Elder Douglas L. Dance
  • Elder Blake M. Roney
  • Elder Eric J. Schmutz
  • Elder Kevin J Worthen

Trent Toone

More stories you may be interested in

Related posts

14-year-old who died in ATV accident identified by officials


Donovan Mitchell scores 37 as the Jazz win 23rd straight at home


11-year-old girl brings mission of love and hugs for police to Utah


Fugitive wanted in trafficking investigation arrested


With the offense bottled up, USU hopes to let Jason Shelley air it out moving forward


New stimulus plan offers help to those forced out of work due to COVID-19